Facing Your Fears

Even though I didn’t get that job I mentioned a few posts ago, I’ve been talking to my friend who helps me with my issues and she said she knows someone who is an employer and are looking to hire for The Crisis Charity. Which is basically a charity that helps homeless people I think, not too sure, I haven’t read much into it as I don’t know if I will be offered an interview quite just yet. Anyway she recommended for an interview and is going to let me know more information about it tomorrow which I’m excited about! 

At first when she told me about it, I wasn’t sure, because yes it is in the field I want to have a career in (Administration) but it’s also helping people face to face too and as I have said, I do struggle with communicating with people I’m not familiar with. But at the end of the day, I have been unemployed for almost 5 months now and I can’t just stay like this until a job comes up where it suits my needs. I need to dive in and have more experience with the field, when you’re unemployed for a long time, you don’t really have much time or choice to be picky in the jobs that you want. 

So I just thought, fuck it, I’m gonna do it, I’m not goint to get anywhere if I don’t face my fears! My friend has put me forward for it and is gonna let me know about it tomorrow as I’ve said. She also said it is really good pay also, so that would be a plus! All I want, is to be back on my feet again and be happy in my job, but I know some people stay in jobs they hate because they can’t afford to leave. I couldn’t really afford to leave my old job with the amount of bills I have but I think people forget that your mental health is more important than money. Yes it’s awful if you’re really struggling to the point where you’re wondering where your next meal is coming from but there are places you can go to get help.

No one should ever be ashamed of asking for help either, life isn’t easy and to be honest, no one said it was. It could take years to find yourself and to find out what you really want to do with your life but every moment is precious, don’t let a job that you hate and is making you miserable take over your life, it’s what I did and the result was not positive. Even though I am still unemployed and on benefits, I don’t have much money but I feel a lot happier than I was 5 month ago. I’ve did little things to improve my mental health such as, go for walks and be active and do things on the weekend instead of being stuck in my bedroom wondering what my life has come to. I know it’s unrelated but I’ve finally learnt how to contour and do my make up professionally, I know it’s not a big deal but little things like that, that you want to improve on and then finally do, can make you feel so much better about yourself. With all mental health issues, people feel like they’re a failure and cannot do anything right, well that is not true and it never will be. 

Stay positive guys!

2 Replies to “Facing Your Fears”

Leave a comment